Breach_Cover_Small.png

 

AFTER THE WAR, THE WALL BROUGHT AN UNEASY PEACE.

When Soviet magicians conjured an arcane Wall to blockade occupied Berlin, the world was outraged, but let it stand for the sake of peace. Now after ten years of fighting with spies instead of spells, the CIA has discovered the unthinkable:

THE WALL IS FAILING.

While refugees and soldiers mass along the border, operatives from East and West converge on the most dangerous city in the world to stop the crisis or take advantage of it.

Karen, a young magician with the American Office of Magical Research and Deployment, is sent to investigate the breach in the Wall and see if it can be fixed. Instead she will discover that the truth is elusive in this divided city, and that even magic itself has its own agenda.

THE TRUTH OF THE WALL IS ABOUT TO BE REVEALED.

Cover art by Pete Garceau | garceaudesign.com


Praise for BREACH

Magic has never felt so real. W.L. Goodwater’s debut Breach presents an alternate world that feels as authentic as true history, even when steeped in spellcraft and magic. It reminded me of the best of Jim Butcher, but charts a path all its own.
— James Rollins, #1 New York Times bestseller of The Demon Crown
W. L. Goodwater delivers one surprise after another in his high-octane magical spy thriller Breach. It’s like Lev Grossman’s The Magicians meets John Le Carré’s classic The Spy Who Came in From the Cold, but with more action and better one-liners. Goodwater is a kick-ass new voice in the modern-fantasy arena!
— David Mack, New York Times bestselling author of the Dark Arts series
Breach is a galloping, cutthroat thrill ride with characters you can root for, even if you sometimes want to slap them.
— Lara Elena Donnelly, author of Amberlough
Breach is a Cold War fantasy that nails the period flavor of a divided Berlin haunted by the horrors of the past, with a great cast and plenty of magic. Fans of Tim Powers’ Declare or Charles Stross’ The Atrocity Archives will like this one!
— Django Wexler, author of The Infernal Battalion
With a vintage vibe and modern magic - Breach is a perfectly unique spy thriller, with an exceptional cast and a killer setting that’s colder than the Cold War ever dreamed of being. It’s one hell of a mystery, yes. But it’s also a whole lot of fun.
— Cherie Priest, author of Brimstone
Goodwater sprinkles powerful truths about the nature of power into this entertaining tale of magic and espionage.
— Publishers Weekly
IMG_1482.jpg
 

About

I am a software engineer, fencing coach, and writer. I'm also the author of BREACH, a novel of magic set in Cold War Berlin.

I am represented by Jennifer Udden of Barry Goldblatt Literary.